Gadgets, widgets, and other things that clog my desktop

January 14, 2008 at 3:27 am Leave a comment

I hate having a cluttered desktop.  I don’t like leaving files that I download, mp3’s, or anything like that scattered across about.  The only thing I have on my desktop is the Recycle Bin.  I also don’t like anything that covers whatever awesome desktop background I have up.  But now that I’ve been messing with Vista and this Sidebar thing, I’ve discovered something that could undo everything I’ve worked so hard to protect.

These new-fangled thingies that seem to be all the rage on personal websites and blogs are threatening to destroy my laptop.  I’m in love with widgets, or gadgets, or whatever the hell you call them.  I’m always looking for the best way to build a playlist of music and stream it to my desktop.  Or snazzy ways to keep up with RSS feeds.  Or publish my photos online.  Or track my eBay bids.  Problem is…I can’t stop.  I’m consistently switching out my widgets, in hopes of finding ‘The One’ (or ‘The Few’ since there isn’t just one widget that’s going to do everything).

Actually I can stop.  I’ve limited by desktop real estate to three widgets: one for turning the laptop on and off, another for launching apps, and the last one for eBay bids because if I’m bidding on eBay, I like to monitor the auction every second.  Also, another one for music, but I don’t keep it up all the time, just when I want to listen to music.

But I’m still on the hunt.  If anyone has any picks for great widgets, let me know.

Entry filed under: Technology. Tags: , , , , .

Good job, Nintendo Can you take the heat? CAN YOU?????

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
S M T W T F S
    Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My Xbox 360’s Personal Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

