Sarah Connor Chronicles season 1 review (slight spoilers)

March 3, 2008 at 10:56 pm 3 comments

Season 1 of Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles has just aired, and for the most part, I’m satisfied. According to this article, Josh Friedman, the head writer for the show, admits that the two-hour season finale wasn’t meant to be the finale (most likely because of the WGA Strike), but it was fortuitous that the last shows to be completed ended on a cliffhanger, thus making them useful as a season finale. The entire show has some way to go before it can come close to the genius writing on Battlestar Galactica, but as the only science fiction-heavy show on this spring’s network lineup, I find it decent enough.

I still don’t fully buy Summer Glau as the new good Terminator; it only works because someone has to watch John’s back as he’s going to school. Maybe it’s because she’s really hot. If I were to choose a Terminator model to send back in time and pose as a high school student, I’d probably choose a less attractive one. I mean, c’mon, if there was a girl that looked like Summer Glau walking around my high school, she’d never be left alone, thus making her mission more difficult. But she’s not terrible as a Terminator (I think I like Cameron better than I liked the T-X from Terminator 3).

And the whole Derek Reese storyline? Well, I think it’s OK, and I really liked the final Season 1 episode with him and John at the park. But the stuff in the future was a bit hard to swallow, only because Brian Austin Green’s face still looked too…perfect. He needed to be grimy and dirty, but he looked Hollywood grimy and dirty. Other things I didn’t like: Dr. Silberman. His storyline was kinda wack. They basically reduced him to some kinda loon and hermit. Granted after the stuff he saw in T2, I’d be a little crazy, too, but I thought they could have written him better. And there was something about having so many bad guy Terminators spread throughout the show. There’s only one real enemy Terminator (The Cromartie/Kester Terminator), but having a bunch of them kinda makes the threat they pose seem less ominous. And I really hated the Cromartie Terminator in the season pilot, he looked like one of those muscle heads that spends all his time at the gym, like they tried to find someone that could replace Arnold.

I hope the show gets a bigger budget, since it could use a bit more action. When there is action, it’s just enough and doesn’t seem like overkill. And I like the idea of having Cameron learn human behavior from high school kids, and not always adults. Even though I think a high school setting is a terrible place to observe human behavior, it could give a learning computer a different view of humanity. Overall, it’s a decent show, but nothing groundbreaking. I’m looking forward to Season 2, and I hope they announce something soon. It hasn’t been confirmed (yet), but if they’re planning next season’s premiere, then they must be confident it’ll be picked up.

7.0/10

(images from Yahoo!)

Entry filed under: television. Tags: , , , , , , .

When the show is actually better online… She’s still got it (the body, I mean)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Trudi Topham  |  March 4, 2008 at 5:03 am

    Having not seen this yet, I’m intrigued as to why you don’t find Glau believeable in the role. Could you explain this a little more please?

    Reply
  • 2. littleman00  |  March 4, 2008 at 8:06 am

    It was really just small things like the way she talked. When first introduced, she was just another high school kid who acted…normal. But when she’s around John and his mother, her character goes all monotone. I don’t really see the point of her being ‘normal’ in public and then acting like a ‘Terminator’ around John. It would help keep up the facade of being human if she just spoke and acted like a human all the time.

    However, I do like the look she has in her eyes most of the time, which seem empty, as if there’s no soul, and inquisitive, like she’s constantly learning (which she is). I still like her character more than Kristanna Loken from T3, though, primarily because the Cameron character makes more sense than the T-X. Having a gorgeous blonde play a lethal killing machine feels like Hollywood had too much interference with the T3 casting.

    Reply
  • 3. Summer Glau  |  April 22, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    This show is great, love it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My Xbox 360’s Personal Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

