Almost Good Samaritan

May 21, 2008 at 7:34 am 2 comments

I was in San Fran today spending time with a friend of mine whom I haven’t spent much time with in the past few weeks, usually because of school and helping people move and stuff like that.  Anyway, I was on my way home via BART (my car hates me for driving up and down San Fran hills with an extra hundred or so pounds of other peoples’ stuff) and I step off at the San Leandro station just in time to see a fight spill out of the train and onto the platform.  I don’t know what was going on, all I know is that it involved a young woman and an older man.

At first I thought that since the train is stopped and people are getting off, one of those people might be the one involved, meaning the fights over because now the two parties are separated.  Not so.  Both parties had now exited the train and as I was getting on the escalator, I see the older man do something and knock down the other girl.  So, me and this other dude blocked the entrance to the escalator to keep the man from running away like a pussy.  Then the girl gets up and basically charges at him, and I do my best to keep the two away from each other.  Unfortunately, I also had in my hand a book I was borrowing from this same friend I visited and she’s very particular about the condition of her books, so I felt bad because it was getting a little bent.

Anyway, they were going at it and I knew that if I stepped aside, this old dude would get his ass handed to him by this younger woman who was about more than half his age and had way more fight in her.  Plus, she was backed up by a couple of her friends (another woman and a man), so for the sake of the older man, I did my best to intervene.  The only thing I really remember saying was, “Hey!” about five or six times.

So, now the two parties had cooled slightly and the older man was getting on the down escalator, but they were still yelling obsceneties at each other.  Then, someone yelled, “I’m gonna call the fucking cops!”, and the older man stopped at the ticket-taking machines.  I thought that maybe the machines didn’t work, but they did.  He just stopped and maybe he was going to wait for the police.  Then, he went through the ticket machines and, like a pussy,  bolted for the exit just as a BART cop came.  While the cop was talking to some of the other witnesses, I gave chase (as much ‘chase’ as I can get while only wearing flip-flops) and saw the man run to the opposite end of the parking lot, too far for me to catch up to him.  OK, in truth I probably could have, but it would have been very painful on my feet.  Then the two friends of the girl came behind me and asked me if I’d seen him.  I pointed in the direction of the parking lot and they ran.  I saw them a minute later, empty-handed.  Too bad.

I felt a little bad because I probably should have stayed to give a statement to the police, and maybe I could have caught the guy if I followed him more closely or if I had ran after him when I got outside.  But, it was cold (it’s upper 50’s at night and I’m wearing shorts, a t-shirt, and flip-flops), I was tired, and hungry.  So, I’m going to give myself a pat on the back for at least breaking up the fight.  In all honesty, I maybe should have let the young woman kick this dude’s ass.  He probably deserved it.

Entry filed under: Personal. Tags: , , , , .

Breathe a Sigh of Relief Spoiler-free Review: Indiana Jones (updated)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. planetross  |  May 21, 2008 at 7:57 am

    So what was it all about? Don’t leave us hanging 😦

    P.S. I liked the review on SpeedRacer. I will definitely see it. I remember watching it after school in 1972.

    Reply
  • 2. littleman00  |  May 21, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I honestly don’t know what it was about. The only part that I saw was when the older man hit (or punched) the younger woman then tried to go down the escalator. So, from what I actually saw, the older dude assaulted the younger woman. Then he ran away like a punk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My Xbox 360’s Personal Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

