Summer Movie’s I’m Looking Forward To

May 24, 2008 at 1:30 am Leave a comment

The Dark Knight

OK, first thing’s first. I love this title. There’s no ‘II’ or ‘2’, there’s not even ‘Batman’ in the title. But it’s so simple, it’s awesome. I really hope they call the follow-up to Superman Returns simply The Man Of Steel, just because it sounds epic without having too many words. I personally like titles that are maybe one or two words (Armageddon, Star Wars, Ran, and the list goes on).

Batman Begins was a prime example of how to jump start a dying movie franchise. Christopher Nolan, Christian Bale, and Co. made Batman’s world believable, giving us a practically brand new series. You’d almost forget that there have been other Batman movies before this one.

Mongol

This German-produced film chronicles the life of Genghis Khan, from slave to conqueror. This film was up for an Oscar earlier this year, but has yet to be released in the States. It receives a limited theatrical run June 6.

Kung-Fu Panda

I’m a sucker for animated films, and this one looks great. Stupid, probably, but funny nonetheless. Pixar still reigns as king of the CG animated movie, but this Paramount release looks like it could be a lot of fun. Watch the first teaser that was released and the newest trailer and try not to laugh. If you don’t, then you have no soul. Just kidding.

The Happening

I love M. Night Shyamalan. I know that people hate him, but I’m one of those that think he is a great writing and directing talent. Even his weaker movies (Lady in the Water) I still enjoy. This one isn’t peaking my interest as much as something like The Village did, but I like the premise (strange occurrence causing people to basically lose certain motor skills). I also am a big enough Mark Wahlberg fan that I would have seen this without the Shyamalan name stuck to it. While I’m not a big Zooey Deschanel fan, I’m sure I won’t find her annoying here (actually, bland is more the term).

Get Smart

Those two words are all you need. I was a kid when I caught the reruns of this show on Nick-at-Nite, and have been a fan ever since. Steve Carell is one of the funniest men in Hollywood, and having him paired with the Anne Hathaway (looking hotter than ever) and The Rock is just a casting dream come true.

Wall-E

C’mon. It’s Pixar. I haven’t seen a bad Pixar movie yet (granted I haven’t seen all of them, still have yet to see Cars). It may also be interesting to see how they can pull off a story with all the classic Pixar charm when the main character barely even talks. Then again, watch the short film Lifted (found on either the Pixar short films collection DVD or the Ratatouille DVD); it’s basically a complete story told in about 5 minutes, with no dialogue.

Journey to the Center of the Earth 3D

I’m more interested in the 3D than the movie itself, but the movie could still be a lot of fun. And Brendan Fraser is one of my ‘guilty pleasure’ actors.

Hellboy II: The Golden Army

I wasn’t a huge fan of the first, but I still enjoyed it. This one looks way more exciting than the first, and it’s more of Ron Pearlman.

The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor

I really enjoy the Mummy movies, since they’re like enjoyable second-rate Indy films. I’m glad they’re going beyond Egypt and into some other cultures, and I really want to see a Jet Li VS Michelle Yeoh smackdown. That would absolutely make this movie for me. And again, Brendan Fraser.

Tropic Thunder

The trailer for this had more rolling. I know that Robert Downey, Jr. is getting a bit of flack for his portrayal of an African-American (much like his character in the movie), but he just seems so damn funny here (“I’m just a dude playin’ a dude disguised as another dude!“). Throw in three great actors (well two, I don’t think Ben Stiller is that great of an ‘actor’, but he is funny) playing actors who think they’re making a movie, and that sounds like comic gold to me.

Pineapple Express

Seth Rogen, Judd Apatow, and James Franco. That is a winning combination. Really, I don’t know much about this, but I just have a feeling I’ll be laughing my ass off.

Hancock

It’s a superhero movie that isn’t based on a pre-existing superhero, and that sounds like genius to me. This is director Peter Berg’s follow-up to The Kingdom, which was a decent action movie. It’s nice to see a more comic approach to the comic book genre. The movie’s page on Yahoo! says it best, “it’s a bit refreshing to get a look at great power without great responsibility.” Plus, Will Smith and Jason Bateman could be absolutely hilarious together.

Star Wars: The Clone Wars

What a way to start off a TV show: make the pilot a movie. Seriously, though, it’s Star Wars and I’m a Star Wars nerd. ‘Nuff said.

HONORABLE MENTION

Wanted

Not too excited for this film, but it does look like it could be a decent action movie (I think it’s based on a graphic novel?).

The X-Files

I was a mild fan of the show and movie, so I’ll probably go check this out.

The Incredible Hulk

Supposedly, the filmmakers took inspiration from the 1970’s TV show with Bill Bixby, a show which I loved (I caught the reruns on Sci-Fi as a kid, it aired either before or after decently-adapted Spider-man TV show). Also, I heard Edward Norton was really fighting to make sure the studio didn’t mess with the movie too much since he really believes in this project. Could be interesting.

Traitor

Not a summer tentpole movie by any means, but that’s a good thing. We need some decent serious thrillers in the midst of superheroes, explosions, and animated comedies.

Eagle Eye

Not exactly a summer movie, since it comes out in September. The idea for this movie came from Steven Spielberg, be he isn’t directing, writing, or even producing it. This is also Shia LeBeouf’s first attempt at a serious adult thriller after spending the past couple of years dodging giant robots, Soviets, and a creepy neighbor.

Bangkok Dangerous

Is Nicholas Cage doing a serious action movie? Who’d have thought? I know this is a remake, but it’s being remade by the guys that did the original, so at least they already understand the source material. This could be either really awesome, or really bad (the Pang Bros. don’t exactly have the best reputation in Asia).

You Don’t Mess With The Zohan

The trailer looked mildly funny, but I’m not the biggest Adam Sandler fan. However, I like the concept: a top Israeli commando becomes a hair stylist. So ludicrous it could be hilarious.

(images from Yahoo!)

Entry filed under: movies. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Soviets Aren’t Fans of Indy Sydney Pollack Loses Battle With Cancer

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My Xbox 360’s Personal Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

