Google’s Chrome now my default browser

September 4, 2008 at 9:02 pm 3 comments

I’vee been messing around with Google’s new browser, Chrome, which was just released this week.  So far, I like it.  I like the simple, clean look.  No toolbars dangling underneath the address bar, internet status updates taking up the bottom. It’s nice.

You can add a bookmarks toolbar near the top, but it only appears in the Recently Visited Websites page, which opens when you click the plus sign in the Tabs area.  A ‘Home’ button can also be added (which I did) next to the address bar.

It may not be faster than Firefox 3, which I also love, but it’s just as fast.  On my desktop, I’m still using Firefox, only because it scales websites better to fit my larger LCD TV/Monitor.  With Chrome, website font is a little too small.  Even changing the font size in the ‘Options’ menu doesn’t help too much.  The ‘Incognito’ mode is nice, but I suspect I won’t be using it that much, only because I’m not too concerned with someone finding out what websites I frequent.  There’s also the option to make certain web applications, like websites, turn into something like a  shortcut on your desktop.  Useful if there is a website that you visit often and don’t want to bother opening the browser, arriving at the homepage, and then finding the bookmark.  I, however, like keeping my desktop as clean as possible, so I won’t be cluttering it with glorified shortcuts.

Overall, it’s great.  Chrome is the only browser I actually prefer running in a ‘minimized’ state, one that doesn’t take up the entire screen, because I feel that I’m given enough space without having to maximize the window.  The only major downside is that, right now, there isn’t supported for my favorite plug-ins like Clip-it and ScribeFire (both I use for blogging).

Entry filed under: Technology. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

‘King of Voice-Overs’ Passes Away Review: Redbelt

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laurynomaly  |  September 8, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I completely right-click > search feature. It rocks.

    Give me clipmarks and stumbleupon and I’m sold.

    Reply
  • 2. Laurynomaly  |  September 8, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Ok. That comment didn’t register correctly.

    I completely HEART the google chrome. It’s fast. It’s compact. It’s clean. There’s a highlight-right-click-search feature. It totally rocks.

    Give me clipmarks and stumbleupon and I am sold.

    Reply
  • 3. Laurynomaly  |  September 8, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    And the incognito window really comes in handy when I’m doing stuff at work like leaving comments on blogs….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My Xbox 360’s Personal Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

